Melbourne Prize Trust

About us

The Melbourne Prize Trust, established in 2004, provides financial and professional development opportunities to artists by running the annual Melbourne Prize, which operates in a three-year cycle as follows:

/ Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture (2020)

/ Melbourne Prize for Literature (2021)

/ Melbourne Prize for Music (2022)

/ Three-year cycle commences again with the Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture 2023 

The Trust has three objectives, which are met by 
running the annual Melbourne Prize:

/ to recognise and reward excellence and talent;

/ to inspire creative development;

/ to enrich public life.

The annual Melbourne Prize is run as a competition each year in the three-year cycle. Please click here for information on the current annual Melbourne Prize. The Melbourne Prize Trust is an Income Tax Exempt Charity listed on the Australian Federal Government’s Register of Cultural Organisations with Deductible Gift Recipient Status.


The Melbourne Prize Trust was established as an Income Tax Exempt Charity and Deductible Gift Recipient in 2004 and commenced the annual Melbourne Prize in 2005. The founder of the Trust, Simon Warrender, announced the annual Melbourne Prize, following the unveiling of his project being the commissioning of The Magic Pudding sculpture as a centerpiece of a new children’s garden precinct in Melbourne’s CBD at the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne.

The Prize is established to provide opportunities for Victorian writers, musicians and sculptors and recognise and reward excellence and talent, inspire creative development and enrich public life. Proceeds from the sale of miniatures of the Royal Botanic Garden’s sculpture of The Magic Pudding contribute to the Melbourne Prize Trust. Click here to order a miniature of The Magic Pudding at the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne – proceeds from the sale of miniatures contribute to the annual Melbourne Prize.

The first three-year cycle of the annual Melbourne Prize commenced with the Melbourne Prize for Urban Sculpture 2005. The Trust funds the annual Melbourne Prize through cross-sector partnerships from the public and private sectors. The annual Melbourne Prize is open to Australian citizens or Australian permanent residents and residents of the State of Victoria.

The home of the annual Melbourne Prize is Federation Square, where an exhibition of finalists, according to each cycle, is held each November. All recipients are announced at

Click here for News on the annual Melbourne Prize.

The annual Melbourne Prize was founded by Simon Warrender with the foundation support from the Committee for Melbourne.


The Melbourne Prize Trust is a Deductible Gift Recipient and listed on the Register of Cultural Organisations. Donations to the Melbourne Prize Trust are fully tax deductible and support the annual Melbourne Prize. Click here to email your interest about making a tax-deductible donation to the Melbourne Prize Fund.


Melbourne Prize Trust ABN 46 190 726 471

Melbourne Prize Limited as Trustee for Melbourne Prize Trust ACN 107 593 868


Dr Janine Kirk AM Chairman – Phoenix Australia. Janine has over 30 years of senior management experience in both the private and public sectors. Over the last decade Janine has been a Ministerial appointee to an extensive range of State Government Committees, Councils and Boards in sectors as diverse as industry, marketing & branding, innovation, tourism and events, community development, infrastructure, finance, education, drug prevention, international trade and urban planning. 

Simon H Warrender Executive Director, Secretary and Founder – Melbourne Prize Trust. Simon, as a Bachelor of Business and Grad. Dip. in Applied Science, has extensive experience in the financial and aviation sectors and is the founder and Executive Director of the Melbourne Prize Trust. He has established a number of public benefit projects.  

Gerard Dalbosco Melbourne Managing Partner – Ernst & Young. Gerard is Melbourne Managing Partner and former Deputy CEO of EY Asia Pacific. Gerard joined EY in 1984, building a successful career in transaction advisory services. Educated in Melbourne, Gerard has a Bachelor of Commerce and a Masters of Applied Finance from the University of Melbourne. He is an Associate of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia. He is active in the community and a Director of the Committee for Melbourne; Chair of the Board and Finance Committee of Loreto Mandeville Hall, Toorak; a member of the Finance Committee, Newman College, Melbourne University; and Deputy Chairman of the Business Council at the National Gallery of Victoria.

Professor Andrea Hull AO. Andrea is Chair of the Melbourne Recital Center and has had a distinguished career in the arts, cultural policy, and arts education in Chief Executive and Board advisory roles in Federal and State Government, and in education. Andrea has served on a wide variety of Federal and State Boards covering cultural, health promotion, cultural and public diplomacy, urban renewal and design, tourism, and innovation agendas.

Anthony Poynton Partner – MinterEllison Lawyers. Anthony has been associated with the annual Melbourne Prize since its inception, including as a member of the Management Committee. 

Clive Scott General Manager – Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. With more than 35 years in the hotel industry, Clive has a Diploma in Hotel Management and a Degree in Economics and worked for the Hilton chain for 21 years. Clive has also spent time as the General Manager Human Resources for the Accor group of hotels (Australia/New Zealand/Japan). In 2005, Clive returned to Melbourne to take over the reins of the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins one of Melbourne’s most well known hotels. Clive is actively involved in Melbourne’s business and arts community and was recently awarded Accor Hotels worldwide a “Silver Bernache” for his outstanding contribution in the industry and arts community.

Pamela M Warrender OAM. Pamela has had extensive experience in the arts and cultural sector over many decades and played a foundation role in the Australian modern arts movement. Pamela is the founder of the Committee for Melbourne and a published author.


Dr Janine Kirk AM Chief Executive – Prince’s Trust Australia

Anthony Poynton Partner – MinterEllison Lawyers

Simon H Warrender Executive Director, Secretary and Founder – Melbourne Prize Trust. 

AUDITOR Grant Thornton

ACCOUNTANTS Jamison Alliott



Patrick Baker Patrick is a philanthropy and non-profit specialist with The Alfred Foundation. He has established experience in governance, development and fundraising across the non-profit sector.

John Simpson John is a long standing company director with established interests in education, broadcast media, governance, the arts and social investment. He has been a non-executive director of more than 10 organisations including, Shell Australia Limited, ESSSuper (Chairman), the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and SecondBite (Food Rescue). John has been a vigorous advocate for the Melbourne Prize since it commenced.